Wessex BBA Festival

Date: 26 Nov 2016
Venue: Life-Centre, Bournemouth
Adjudicator(s): John Winterflood

Pos Band Conductor Draw
1 Verwood Concert Brass Kevin Smith 7
Of Men and Mountains (Edward Gregson)
2 Otterbourne Brass Melvin White 12
The Saga of Haakon the Good (Philip Sparke)
3 Hyde Jonathan Lush-Camps 8
Variations on a Ninth (Gilbert Vinter)
4 Michelmersh Silver Wayne Landen 6
The Year of the Dragon (Philip Sparke)
5 Bournemouth Concert Brass Matthew Brown 4
The Year of the Dragon (Philip Sparke)
6 Andover Town Steve Large 11
Essay for Brass Band (Edward Gregson)
7 Sherborne Town Ian Lowes 5
Resurgam (Eric Ball)
8 Verwood Town Emma Button 1
Saint-Saëns Variations (Philip Sparke)
9 Gosport Solent Brass Colin Garner 3
Four Little Maids (John Carr)
10 New Forest Brass Ian Luxford 10
Lake of the Moon (Kevin Houben)
11 Christchurch & Highcliffe Lawrence Butchart 9
Divertimento for Brass Band (Bryan Kelly)
W Spinnaker Brass   2

Pitt Rivers Cup (overall winners): Verwood Concert Brass

The Christopher Wren Cup (best championship section band): Verwood Concert Brass
Lilliput Trophy (best 1st section band): Otterbourne Brass
Salisbury Cup (best 2nd section band): Andover Town
Avalon Cup (best 3rd section band): no award
Hampshire Cup (best 4th section band): Verwood Town

Best playing of a march: Hyde (playing O.R.B. (Charles Anderson))

The Kevin Bolton Plaque (best instrumentalist): Elaine Close (cornet, Verwood Concert Brass)

The Tom Gomersall Memorial Cup (best euphonium): Graham Jones (Otterbourne Brass)
The Maurice Woods Trophy (best cornet): Sonja Charters (Otterbourne Brass)
The Stan & Barry Willis Cup (best trombone section): Bournemouth Concert Brass
Arthur Spence Shield (best bass section): Verwood Concert Brass
The James Winter Trophy (best percussion section): Hyde

The South Wilts Cup (best musical interpretation by conductor): Kevin Smith (Verwood Concert Brass)